Issue details

Small Schools Proposals

In September 2019 the Cabinet Member for Education and Skills took a decision (decision reference ES02(19/20)) to approve the commencement of a consultation in relation to proposals for change at the at all, none or any of the following schools:-

 

·       Clapham and Patching CE Primary School, Clapham, Worthing

·       Compton and Up Marden CE School, Compton, Chichester

·       Rumboldswhyke CE Infants’ School, Chichester

·       Stedham Primary School, Stedham, Midhurst

·       Warninglid Primary School, Warninglid, Haywards Heath

 

The consultation is due to end in late November 2019.  Following assessment of the outcome of the consultation, should specific proposals for any of the schools listed emerge, Cabinet will be asked to agree to launch a consultation seeking views on these specific proposals.

 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Divisions affected: Angmering & Findon; Bourne; Chichester South; Midhurst; Worth Forest;

Notice of proposed decision first published: 25/10/2019

Decision due: 14 January 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Graham Olway, Assistant Director - School Organisation Email: graham.olway@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 23029.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member for Education and Skillsvia the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken

Consultees

Schools

Governing Bodies

Diocese of Chichester Education

Parents and carers

Small Schools Task and Finish Group

  Children and Young People’s Services Scrutiny Committee 9 January 2020

Democratic Services Contact: Wendy Saunders Tel: 033 022 22553

West Sussex Plan Priority: Best Start in Life

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers

  • None