Issue details

Small Schools Proposals - Determination of Statutory Notices

Following the decision by the Cabinet on 22nd April (CAB01(20/21)) and in accordance with Section 15(1) of the Education and Inspections Act 2006 (as amended), West Sussex County Council (WSCC) propose to issue notices on 7th May 2020 of their intention to discontinue Clapham and Patching C of E Primary School and Rumboldswhyke C of E Infants’ School on 31st August 2020.

 

WSCC will also give noticein accordance with Part 1 of Schedule 3 of The School Organisation (Prescribed Alterations to Maintained Schools) (England) Regulations 2013 (‘the Prescribed Alterations Regulations’) and in conjunction with Parts 2 and 3 and Schedule 3 of the Education and Inspections Act 2006 (as amended by the Education Act 2011) of its intention to transfer Warninglid Primary School to a new site which is part of the new development known as Woodgate on land at Hardriding Farm, Brighton Road, Pease Pottage with effect from 31 August 2021

 

Following consideration of any representations received during the 4 week period in relation to these proposals the Cabinet will be asked to determine the statutory notices.

 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Divisions affected: Angmering & Findon; Chichester South; Worth Forest;

Notice of proposed decision first published: 06/05/2020

Decision due: 16 June 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Graham Olway, Assistant Director - School Organisation Email: graham.olway@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 23029.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member for Education and Skills via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

Consultees

Schools

Governing Bodies

Diocese of Chichester Education

Parents and carers

Democratic Services Contact: Wendy Saunders Tel: 033 022 22553

West Sussex Plan Priority: Best Start in Life

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers

  • Cabinet Decision CAB01(20/21)