Issue details

Scope of services for a proposed Children's Trust

In order to meet the requirements of the Direction made by the Secretary of State, Department for Education (DfE) on 17th December 2019, the County Council will take steps for a range of its Children’s Services to be delivered through an alternative delivery model (referred to as a Children’s Trust). The detailed proposals for the establishment and operation of the Trust and its relationship to the County Council will be described in a Memorandum of Understanding between the Council and the DfE.

 

It is expected that this document will be concluded during October 2020, with a view to planning for the operation of the Trust to take effect during 2021.

 

The Cabinet will take a decision on the proposed scope of services to be included in the proposed Trust and the programme of work for the establishment of the Trust and other critical aspects of the project which need to be included in the Memorandum of Understanding.

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved (subject to call-in)

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 25/02/2020

Decision due: 20 October 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Vince Clark, Children's First Transformation Director Email: vince.clark@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 07402 338396.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member for Children and Young People, via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken

Consultees

Children and Young People’s Services Scrutiny Committee via the  Proposed Scope of Services for Children's Trust Scrutiny Task and Finish Group – 9 October 2020

Democratic Services Contact: Wendy Saunders Tel: 033 022 22553

West Sussex Plan Priority: Best Start in Life

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers

  • None