Issue details

Small Schools Proposals

In September 2019 the Cabinet Member for Education and Skills took a decision (decision reference ES02(19/20)) to approve the commencement of a consultation in relation to proposals for change at the following schools:-

 

  • Clapham and Patching CE Primary School, Clapham, Worthing
  • Compton and Up Marden CE School, Compton, Chichester
  • Rumboldswhyke CE Infants’ School, Chichester
  • Stedham Primary School, Stedham, Midhurst
  • Warninglid Primary School, Warninglid, Haywards Heath

 

The consultation ended on 25th November 2019.  Following assessment of the outcome of the consultation the Cabinet took a decision to consult on the following specific proposals (decision reference CAB10(19/20)):-

 

a)   Closure of Clapham and Patching C of E Primary School by September 2020 whilst continuing to discuss academisation proposals which the County Council will encourage and support. 

b)   Closure of Rumboldswhyke C of E Infant School effective September 2020.

c)   Relocation of Warninglid Primary School and the federation of the school by September 2021 (subject to developers progress).

d)   Closure of Stedham Primary School by September 2020, whilst continuing to encourage and assist the school in its discussion on federation, which if agreed by the end of the consultation period (16 March 2020), will result in the consultation ceasing.

 

The consultation commenced on 3rd February 2020 and closes on 16th March 2020.   As significant progress with proposals to form a federation with another school had been demonstrated, on 7 February 2020 the proposed closure of Stedham Primary School was removed from the consultation process.

 

Following assessment of the outcome of the consultation the Cabinet will be asked to determine the next steps and whether the proposals should be implemented.

 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Divisions affected: Angmering & Findon; Chichester South; Midhurst; Worth Forest;

Notice of proposed decision first published: 05/02/2020

Decision due: 22 April 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Graham Olway, Assistant Director - School Organisation Email: graham.olway@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 23029.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member for Education and Skills via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

Consultees

Schools

Governing Bodies

Diocese of Chichester Education

Parents and carers

Children and Young People’s Services Select Committee – 14 April 2020

 

Democratic Services Contact: Wendy Saunders Tel: 033 022 22553

West Sussex Plan Priority: Best Start in Life

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers