Issue details

Adoption of the West Sussex Children First Strategic Approach

In collaboration with partners across West Sussex the County Council is developing a West Sussex Children First Strategic Approach.  This will set out the direction and commitment for how partners in West Sussex will deliver a shared vision for children and young people placing children at the heart of all we do.

 

It will be a single over-arching strategic approach based on the West Sussex Plan, the Health and well-Being Strategy and Children’s Services Practice Improvement Plan for Social Care as well as other key strategies where outcomes for children, young people and their families will be improved. It will set out how West Sussex will be a great place for children and young people, where all, including those who are vulnerable or disadvantaged, have the best possible start in life and are supported by the whole community to succeed.

 

Cabinet will be asked to approve the adoption of the West Sussex Children First Strategic Approach.

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: For Determination

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 27/08/2019

Decision due: 15 September 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Email: annmarie.dodds@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 29331.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member for Children and Young People via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken

Consultees

Internal (County Council) and external partners including Health and Well-being Board; Local Safeguarding Partnership; Community Safety; Schools (primary and secondary) Health; Police; Children and Young People; District and Borough Councils.

 

Children and Young People’s Services Scrutiny Committee

Democratic Services Contact: Wendy Saunders - Tel: 033 022 22553

West Sussex Plan Priority: Best Start in Life

Background papers

  • None