Issue details

Reduction in the Post-16 Support Service

The post-16 support service works with those young people not in employment, education or training (NEET).  The service assists with carrying out the statutory requirement of tracking those individuals who are NEET and supports greater participation through the organisation of Careers/Apprenticeship Fairs across the county and arranges the Apprenticeship Graduation Ceremony.

 

The funding of the service is currently supplemented by the European Structural and Investment Fund (ESIF) project which is a joint scheme with Brighton and Hove City Council. The programme finishes on 31 December 2020.

 

NEET tracking is the statutory element of the work carried out by the post-16 support service, therefore, once the ESIF funding ceases it is proposed that, as well as ESIF fixed term contracts coming to an end, the County Council will reduce the level of service provided. Work is progressing on assessing the impact of options – from a reduction in the level of service to complete withdrawal of the service. 

 

The Cabinet Member for Education and Skills will be asked to assess the outcome of this work and approve a proposal to either reduce or withdraw the post-16 support service.

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: For Determination

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 30/07/2019

Decision due: 28 January 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Danny Pell, Head of Post-16 and Compliance Email: danny.pell@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 22144.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

Consultees

Staff and UNISON have been informed of the requirement to develop options for the post-16 support service. Staff are engaged in the development work on options and both staff and UNISON will be kept updated as the review progresses.

 

Children and Young People’s Services Scrutiny Committee – 23 October 2019

Democratic Services Contact: Monique Smart - Tel - 033 022 22540

West Sussex Plan Priority: Best Start in Life

Background papers

  • Cabinet Papers