Issue details

Woodlands Meed College Site, Burgess Hill - Allocation of Funding for Project Delivery

Woodlands Meed is a Special School and College for 2-19 year olds located in Burgess Hill. The existing accommodation at the College site has a number of condition issues meaning the College is unable to offer the full curriculum and unable to accommodate the full range of Special Educational Needs. 

 

In order to address this, in February 2019 the Cabinet Member for Education and Skills took a decision (ES18 (18/19)) to approve the allocation of £0.5m from the Capital Programme to enable a costed design to be produced for rebuilding and expanding Woodlands Meed College on its current site. This has involved the appointment of a full design team through the County Council’s Multi-Disciplinary Consultant to undertake the design work required to develop the feasibility design into a formal proposal enabling costs to be sought for all elements of the proposal.

 

A further survey of the existing building’s condition and suitability to meet the needs of the College’s students has now been undertaken.  Following assessment of the outcome of this survey and exploration of access options Cabinet will be asked to agree the allocation of funds from the Capital Programme to enable the new investment at Woodlands Meed to proceed.

.

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Expenditure > £500,000;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved (subject to call-in)

Divisions affected: Burgess Hill East; Hassocks & Burgess Hill South;

Notice of proposed decision first published: 01/07/2019

Decision due: 26 May 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Leigh Hunnikin, Project Manager Email: leigh.hunnikin@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 23051.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member, via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

Consultees

School

Children and Young People’s Services Scrutiny Committee – 4 December 2019

Democratic Services Contact: Wendy Saunders - 033 022 22553

West Sussex Plan Priority: Best Start in LIfe

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers

  • Cabinet Member Decision ES18(18/19)