Issue details

National Highways Consultation A27 Arundel Bypass: Approval of WSCC Consultation Response

The A27 Arundel Bypass has been included in the Government’s Roads Investment Strategy (2020-25).  In 2020, National Highways (formerly Highways England) announced the preferred route for the A27 Arundel Bypass, which will replace the existing single carriageway road with a dual carriageway bypass.  The proposed bypass will feature approximately 8km of dual carriageway to the south of the existing A27. 

 

The proposal, the A27 Arundel Bypass, is a Nationally Significant Infrastructure Project requiring a Development Consent Order (DCO) from the Secretary of State (rather than planning permission from the local planning authority).  The County Council is a statutory consultee in the DCO process.

 

Formal consultation on the proposal is taking place from 11 January to 8 March 2022.

 

The Cabinet will be recommended to approve the County Council’s response to the formal consultation on 15 March 2022 (as agreed with National Highways).

 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 19/01/2022

Decision due: 15 March 2022 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Joy Dennis joy.dennis@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Steve Waight steve.waight@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Darryl Hemmings Email: darryl.hemmings@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 26437.

Consultation process

Representation can be made via the officer contact.

Consultees

Communities Highways and Environment Scrutiny Committee on 24 February 2022.

Internal consultation with County Council officers. 

 

 

Democratic Services Contact: Judith Shore Tel. 033 022 26052

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers

  • None