Issue details

West Sussex Fire and Rescue Service Community Risk Management Plan 2022-26

The Fire and Rescue National Framework for England (2018) requires all Fire and Rescue Authorities to produce an Integrated Risk Management Plan (IRMP) that covers at least a 3-year period. We are now in the fourth and final year of our existing 2018-2022 IRMP and have developed a new Community Risk Management Plan (CRMP) covering 2022-2026 [per guidance from the National Fire Chiefs Council (NFCC), there has been a change in terminology from IRMP to CRMP].

 

During the planning process, we consider our community risks, using a range of sophisticated analytical tools to identify where incidents might happen, when they might occur and how serious they could be. Using this data alongside historical information about demand allows us to identify options to better target our resources, including firefighters and appliances, more effectively, resulting in a better balance of prevention, protection and response activities.  This plan then clearly communicates this to the public, reinforcing the services commitment to our communities.

 

The Cabinet is recommended to endorse the West Sussex Fire and Rescue Service Community Risk Management Plan 2022-26 on behalf of the County Council.

 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: For Determination

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 27/10/2021

Decision due: 15 March 2022 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Joy Dennis joy.dennis@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Steve Waight steve.waight@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Sabrina Cohen-Hatton, Chief Fire Officer Email: sabrina.cohen-hatton@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 24993.

Consultation process

A programme of pre-consultation and engagement activities has been conducted over 12 months in order to help shape the strategic direction of the Community Risk Management Plan.

 

A 10 week, formal consultation, runs from 15th November 2021 to 21st January 2022, open to public and staff and supported by public, staff and representative body engagement.

 

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member for Fire & Rescue and Communities, via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

 

 

Democratic Services Contact: Erica Keegan Tel: 033 022 26050

Background papers

  • None