Issue details

Gatwick Northern Runway - approval of consultation response

Gatwick Airport Limited (GAL) proposes alterations to bring the existing Northern Runway at Gatwick Airport into routine use alongside the main runway, enabling the dual operation of both runways.  The proposal, the Northern Runway Project, is a Nationally Significant Infrastructure Project requiring a Development Consent Order (DCO) from the Secretary of State (rather than planning permission from the local planning authority).  The County Council is a statutory consultee in the DCO process.

 

The proposal would increase Gatwick’s passenger throughput to approximately 75.6 million passengers per annum (mppa) by 2038, an increase in capacity of approximately 13.2 mppa.  The Northern Runway would be operational by summer 2029.  The majority of the construction works associated with the project would be contained within the existing airport boundary.

 

Formal consultation on the proposal is taking place from 9 September to 1 December 2021.

 

The Cabinet will be asked to approve the County Council’s response to the formal consultation. 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 23/09/2021

Decision due: 16 November 2021 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Joy Dennis joy.dennis@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Steve Waight steve.waight@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Mike Elkington, Head of Planning Services Email: michael.elkington@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 26463.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the Cabinet Member for Environment and Climate Change, via the officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

Consultees

All Member briefing by Gatwick Airport (30 September)

Communities, Highways and Environment Scrutiny Committee, 30 September (Task and Finish Group)

Internal consultation with County Council officers and officers in other affected authorities in West Sussex 

 

Democratic Services Contact: Judith Shore Tel: 033 022 26052

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers

  • None