Issue details

Shaw Healthcare Day Services Review

Shaw Healthcare Ltd hold a contract with West Sussex County Council to provide 12 Residential Care and Nursing Homes across West Sussex. Six of these services also have a Day Service offer. In May 2018, a Cabinet decision (Report Ref: AH2 2018/19) was taken which confirmed a three phased approach to making investment in the Shaw Healthcare Ltd contract, the third phase being the review of day services.  In November 2020, as part of the Council’s savings plans, the intention was confirmed to extend the review to assess whether all of the day services are required, whether they provide best use of public money and if not, what should change in order to deliver better outcomes for people.  (Report Ref: CAB 11 20/21)

 

As part of the review of this provision, the County Council will now undertake a 6-week public consultation on the future of the services, with consideration of the outcomes of the review to date and the identification of savings. The process of consultation will be completed by the end of July 2021. The outcomes of the review, responses from the consultation and considerations of the Equalities Impact Assessment will then be presented to Cabinet to inform the decision on the future of the day service offer within the Shaw Healthcare Ltd services.

 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: For Determination

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 11/06/2021

Decision due: 16 November 2021 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Joy Dennis joy.dennis@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Steve Waight steve.waight@westsussex.gov.uk

Lead director: Keith Hinkley

Contact: Juliette Garrett, Senior Commissioning Manager (Adults) Email: juliette.garrett@westsussex,gov.uk Tel: 033 022 23748.

Consultation process

Pre-engagement of customers and carers of services potentially affected.

Full consultation to be undertaken prior to decision

Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Committee to consider the outcome of the consultation.

 

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made via the officer contact by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

Democratic Services Contact: Erica Keegan Tel: 033 022 26050

Background papers

  • None