Issue details

Residential based in-house services, Marjorie Cobby House, Selsey

In 2018 the ‘Choices for the Future’ transformation programme for inhouse services was approved by the Cabinet Member for Adults and Health. Within the programme there was a commitment to review the in-house residential services.

 

Marjorie Cobby House in Selsey is an in house residential resource centre, providing Discharge to Assess with Reablement beds and interim beds primarily for people coming out of hospital and in particular St Richards hospital in Chichester.

 

The demand for residential Discharge to Assess beds has been and is likely to further be impacted by the increase of capacity to support people on a ‘Home First’ pathway, the commissioning of alternative models of care during the pandemic and the increase in provision of the Community Reablement Service.  Supporting people in their own home and maximising opportunities for independence remains the priority as outlined in the Adult Social Care vision and strategy.

 

Proposed Savings were presented to the Health and Adults Social Care Scrutiny Committee on the 13th January 2021 and then at Cabinet on the 22nd January 2021, which included £640k in savings related to in house services and identifying in particular Marjorie Cobby House.  At the scrutiny committee it was identified that this will involve a consultation and an Equalities Impact Assessment which will be presented back to Cabinet once completed.  Following this, Cabinet will be asked to take a decision on the future of Marjorie Cobby and the provision of residential based in-house services at this setting.

 

Decision type: Key

Decision status: For Determination

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 01/03/2021

Decision due: 16 November 2021 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Joy Dennis joy.dennis@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Steve Waight steve.waight@westsussex.gov.uk

Lead director: Keith Hinkley

Contact: Juliette Garrett, Senior Commissioning Manager (Adults) Email: juliette.garrett@westsussex,gov.uk Tel: 033 022 23748.

Consultation process

Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Committee on 13 January 2021

 

Full consultation to undertaken prior to decision

 

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made via the officer contact by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken

Democratic Services Contact: Erica Keegan Tel: 033 022 26050

Background3: Independence In Later Life

Background papers

  • None