Issue details

Consultation on Early Help Service Redesign Proposals

The County Council’s Early Help service is part of its Children, Young People and Learning Directorate.  It identifies and works with children and families in need of support, to help to promote the safe and healthy development of children and young people within stable families, and prevent social care intervention in the future. 

 

Proposals for a redesign of the service are being prepared, with the intention of creating an improved, targeted early help offer directed to those most at need, while continuing to provide the existing statutory functions of the service.  The overall objectives will be to create a service model that is more focused on supporting the needs of the most vulnerable children and families, for the Early Help service to be enabled to work more closely with the Children’s Social Care service and its other delivery partners, and the strengthening of work with schools. 

 

The proposed changes would mean service delivery being focused in areas of greatest need, and a review of the network of service outlets around the county will ensure that resources are deployed with the greatest efficiency and maximum benefit to vulnerable children and families.

 

Cabinet will be asked to agree the launch of a public consultation on the proposed changes to the Early Help service.  This will enable all customers and stakeholders of the service, together with local communities to study and comment on the detailed proposals before any final decision on the future service is taken.

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 23/12/2020

Decision due: 23 February 2021 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Roger Elkins roger.elkins@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Claire Hayes, Service Leader Early Help Email: claire.hayes@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 07702 442462.

Consultation process

Representations concerning this proposed decision can be made to the decision maker via the author or officer contact, by the beginning of the month in which the decision is due to be taken.

Consultees

Children and Young People’s Services Scrutiny Committee – 7 January 2021

Democratic Services Contact: Wendy Saunders Tel: 033 022 22553

Background3: Best Start in Life

Decisions

Agenda items

Background papers

  • None