Issue details

Climate Change Strategy

The County Council agreed a motion on climate change in 2019, calling on the Cabinet to show leadership to combat climate urgency in West Sussex, commit to stepping up the work of the Council to combat climate change and raise awareness of the issues and ways in which residents and businesses can contribute to mitigate climate change, and attempt to make West Sussex County Council carbon neutral by 2030.

 

The Climate Change Strategy will set out the County Council’s vision to 2030 and the commitments to integrate climate change considerations across all aspects of the organisation.

 

The Cabinet will be asked to approve the Climate Change Strategy.

 

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Affects more than 1 ward;

Decision status: For Determination

Divisions affected: (All Divisions);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 04/06/2020

Decision due: 21 July 2020 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Duncan Crow duncan.crow@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jeremy Hunt jeremy.hunt@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Amanda Jupp amanda.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Nigel Jupp nigel.jupp@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Bob Lanzer bob.lanzer@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Paul Marshall paul.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Jacquie Russell jacquie.russell@westsussex.gov.uk, Councillor Deborah Urquhart deborah.urquhart@westsussex.gov.uk

Contact: Catherine Cannon Email: catherine.cannon@westsussex.gov.uk Tel: 033 022 25573.

Consultation process

Representation can be made via the officer contact in the month prior to that in which the decision is to be taken.

Consultees

Informal engagement with partners

Environment and Communities Select Committee, 24 June 2020

Internal consultation with County Council Officers

 

Democratic Services Contact: Judith Shore Tel: 033 022 26052

Background3: A Strong, Safe and Sustainable Place

Agenda items