Decision details

Authority School Governors

Decision Maker: Joint Western Arun Area Committee

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: Yes


The function of the nomination of school governors to maintained schools and academies is delegated to County Local Committees (CLCs) as it enables county councillors to maintain a valuable link with the schools and helps promote to the wider public the important role of school governors.


Under the Education Act 2011 local authority governors are nominated by the local authority but appointed by the governing body. The CLC can nominate any eligible person as a local authority governor, but it is for the governing body to decide whether their nominee has the skills to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school and meets any other eligibility criteria they have set.


At its meeting on 6 February 2019 the Joint Western Arun Area Committee approved the following nominations under the 2012 Regulations:


·         Mrs Rebecca Peters to Aldingbourne Primary School for a further four year term.

·         Ms Rachel Ayuba to Bersted Green Primary School for a four year term.

·         Mrs Christine Porter to Walberton and Binstead C of E Primary School for a four year term.


The call-in deadline for this decision is the 14 February.


Publication date: 07/02/2019

Date of decision: 06/02/2019

Decided at meeting: 06/02/2019 - Joint Western Arun Area Committee

Effective from: 15/02/2019

Accompanying Documents: