25 Priority Areas across West Sussex

The county was split into 161 areas based on parish, borough and district boundaries. Over the five-year life of the strategy the county council has identified 25 Priority Areas within the county to help inform where any actions should be focussed. These have been classified using the Risk of Flooding from Surface Water dataset which shows the flooding that takes place from the 'surface runoff' generated by rainwater (including snow and other precipitation) for the 1 in 30-year (3.3% AEP), 1 in 100-year (1% AEP) and 1 in 1000-year (0.1% AEP) rainfall events. The Priority Areas have been considered by local experts from the Strategy Partners organisations, including the Borough and District Councils, the County Council, Southern Water, the South Downs National Park Authority and by the Environment Agency. These priority areas are listed alphabetically below:

Angmering	Rustington
Billingshurst	Shoreham and Southwick
Burgess Hill	Sompting
Chichester	Southwater
Crawley	Steyning
Easebourne	Washington
East Preston	Westbourne
Findon	Worth
Hassocks	Worthing
Haywards Heath	
Horsham	
Itchingfield	
Lancing	
Linchmere	
Lindfield	
Littlehampton	

This prioritisation does not mean funding is available, or has been agreed, nor does it exclude important work from happening elsewhere if a good cost benefit or multiple benefits can be achieved. The priorities will be reviewed as progress is made.