West Sussex County Council - Annual Meeting

21 May 2021

At the Annual Meeting of the County Council held at 10.30 am on Friday, 21 May 2021, at County Hall, Chichester, PO19 1RQ, the members present being:

Cllr Bradbury (Chairman)

Cllr Albury Cllr Kenyon Cllr Ali Cllr Lanzer Cllr Atkins, RD Cllr Linehan Cllr Baldwin Cllr Lord Cllr Baxter Cllr Magill Cllr Bence Cllr Markwell Cllr Bennett Cllr Marshall Cllr McDonald Cllr Boram Cllr Britton Cllr McGregor Cllr Burgess Cllr Mercer Cllr Charles Cllr Milne Cllr Cherry Cllr Mitchell Cllr Chowdhury Cllr Montyn Cllr Condie Cllr Nagel Cllr A Cooper Cllr Oakley Cllr O'Kelly Cllr B Cooper Cllr Cornell Cllr Oppler Cllr Oxlade Cllr Crow Cllr J Dennis Cllr Patel Cllr N Dennis Cllr Payne Cllr Pendleton Cllr Duncton Cllr Pudaloff Cllr Dunn Cllr Elkins Cllr Quinn Cllr Evans Cllr Richardson Cllr Forbes Cllr Russell Cllr Gibson Cllr Sharp Cllr Smith Cllr Greenway Cllr Hall Cllr Sparkes Cllr Turley Cllr Hillier Cllr Hunt Cllr Urquhart Cllr Waight Cllr Johnson Cllr Joy Cllr Wall Cllr Walsh, KStJ, RD Cllr A Jupp

1 Election of Chairman

Cllr N Jupp

1.1 Cllr Patel, the outgoing Vice-Chairman of the Council, took the chair for the election of Chairman of the County Council.

Cllr Wickremaratchi

1.2 The outgoing Vice-Chairman stated that he had one nomination for the office of Chairman of the Council, that of Cllr Pete Bradbury.

- Cllr Bradbury was elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.
- 1.3 Cllr Bradbury made the prescribed declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair whereupon members conveyed to him the Council's congratulations on taking office.

2 Election of Vice-Chairman

- 2.1 The Chairman stated that he had one nomination for the office of Vice-Chairman of the Council, that of Cllr Sujan Wickremaratchi. Cllr Wickremaratchi was elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.
- 2.2 Cllr Wickremaratchi made the prescribed declaration of acceptance of office whereupon members conveyed to him the Council's congratulations on taking office.

3 Death of Mrs Catherine Morrish

- 3.1 The Chairman reported the death of a former member of the County Council, Mrs Catherine Morrish, who had represented the Hotham division in Arun from 1989 to 2001.
- 3.2 Members held a minute's silence.

4 Attendance and Apologies for Absence

4.1 In line with the contingency arrangements under Standing Orders 3.09a to 3.09d, the following members were present in the meeting. The other members participated virtually via video conferencing but were not entitled to vote on the business on the agenda.

Cllr Baxter

Cllr Bence

Cllr Bradbury

Cllr A Cooper

Cllr Forbes

Cllr Gibson

Cllr Hunt

Cllr Johnson

Cllr A Jupp

Cllr Lanzer

Cllr Linehan

Cllr Lord

Cllr Marshall

Cllr Montyn

Cllr O'Kelly

Cllr Oxlade

Cllr Patel

Cllr Sharp

Cllr Urquhart

Cllr Wickremaratchi

4.2 Apologies were received from Cllr Burrett.

5 Members' Interests

5.1 No interests were declared.

6 County Returning Officer's Return

6.1 The County Returning Officer's return of persons elected as county councillors at the ordinary election held on 6 May 2021 was received.

7 Minutes

7.1 It was agreed that the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of the County Council held on 19 March 2021 (pages 9 to 38) be approved as a correct record.

8 Review of Proportionality

- 8.1 The County Council was reminded of its statutory duty to review the proportionality on its committees as a result of the election. A paper on the application of the proportionality rules (pages 39 to 40) together with a table showing the proposed allocations of seats among Committees (supplement page 3) had been circulated.
- 8.2 The review of proportionality was agreed.

9 Appointment of Leader

- 9.1 The Council was reminded of its statutory duty to appoint the Leader for a four-year term. The Leader would then appoint members of the Cabinet and decide the portfolios for which they would be responsible.
- 9.2 The appointment of Cllr Paul Marshall as Leader of the Council for a four-year term was agreed.

10 Notification of Cabinet Members

- 10.1 The Leader designate had given notice to the County Council of his intended appointments to the Cabinet, together with Cabinet portfolios (supplement pages 5 to 10).
- 10.2 The Leader confirmed the proposals set out in the supplement for the appointment of Cabinet Members and their portfolios for the ensuing year.

11 Appointments to Committees

- 11.1 The Council considered a schedule setting out the nominations for the appointments in accordance with Standing Orders, proportionality and the wishes of groups (supplement pages 11 to 16).
- 11.2 The Chairman sought the Council's agreement to the waiver of Standing Order 2.15A which sets out that the chairmen and vice-chairmen of scrutiny committees will be appointed by the first meeting of each committee. Instead it was proposed that appointments to those positions should be made by the Council to run until the first meeting of each committee when the process set out in Standing Orders for appointments by the Committees will be followed. Making interim appointments would assist in preparations for the first meetings of the committees.
- 11.3 The waiver of Standing Orders was agreed.
- 11.4 More than one nomination had been received for a number of appointments as set out below.

Children and Young People's Scrutiny Committee

Cllr Hillier and Cllr Smith were nominated as Chairman. Cllr Hillier was elected Chairman.

Cllr Cherry and Cllr Linehan were nominated as Vice-Chairman. Cllr Linehan was elected Vice-Chairman.

Environment and Communities Scrutiny Committee

Cllr Britton and Cllr Oppler were nominated as Chairman. Cllr Britton was elected Chairman.

Cllr Baxter and Cllr Oakley were nominated as Vice-Chairman. Cllr Oakley was elected Vice-Chairman.

Fire and Rescue Service Scrutiny Committee

Cllr Boram was nominated and elected as Chairman.

Cllr Pendleton was nominated and elected as Vice-Chairman

Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Committee

Cllr Wall and Cllr Walsh were nominated as Chairman. Cllr Wall was elected Chairman.

Cllr Bence and Cllr B Cooper were nominated as Vice-Chairman. Cllr Bence was elected Vice-Chairman.

Performance and Finance Scrutiny Committee

Cllr Montyn and Cllr Turley were nominated as Chairman.

Cllr Montyn was elected Chairman.

Cllr Burrett and Cllr Lord were nominated as Vice-Chairman. Cllr Burrett was elected Vice-Chairman.

Planning and Rights of Way Committee

Cllr Burrett and Cllr Quinn were nominated as Chairman. Cllr Burrett was elected Chairman.

Cllr Atkins was nominated and elected as Vice-Chairman.

Regulation, Audit and Accounts Committee

Cllr Nigel Dennis was nominated and elected as Chairman.

Cllr Boram and Cllr B Cooper were nominated as Vice-Chairman. Cllr Boram was elected as Vice-Chairman.

11.5 The full list of appointments, which took effect from the end of the meeting, is set out at Appendix 1.

Chairman

The Council rose at 11.10 am